Understanding Automation in Asana

Greetings! I’m new to Asana, so wish to ensure that I’m understanding how automation is treated.

My question is this:

Does Asana Evaluate all triggers before completing actions that are within the Trigger event? (This is a project with multiple sections and the sections have triggers)

Thank you very much.

Hi @anon39556109 and welcome to the forum,

I think you’re going to need to supply a bit more detail and/or an example about the scenario you’re asking about. Do you mean in a case where a rule has multiple triggers?

Just taking a guess about what OP means: You can decide whether the rule requires all triggers or just one of the triggers. This is a boolean AND/OR evaluation.

When editing the rule, above the triggers you can see:

“When all of these triggers happen v”
(meaning that x AND y AND z must be true)
If you click on the down chevron, you can change it to:
“When any of these triggers happen v”
(meaning that x OR y OR z is true)

If you want the rule to only act on tasks in Section 1, you must add “moved to section 1” as one of the triggers and have the “ALL of these triggers” option selected. In this case, the rule will evaluate “is this task in Section 1? YES” before the rule acts on the task.

1 Like

Let me give more info -

Section one - trigger
action sets trigger back to false

Section two - trigger

Section three - trigger

Section four - trigger

The results I’m seeing (the task randomly winding up in various sections, with actions duplicated (I have subtasks added as actions in some sections as well). What this tells me is rather than flowing through the sections in a “evaluate trigger” “trigger = true” “perform actions” “evaluate next trigger”, which is what makes sense to me, Asana is performing “Trigger evaluations for all sections”, oh, and some actions.

I’m assuming I just don’t know enough, and so am looking for clarification.