Rule trigger for subtasks complete with task in a section

I agree, this has been open for far too long with plenty of people needing the functionality…

I’m a video editor and while I prefer other Kanban boards, our company uses asana.

I want so badly to have this setup.
Sections: Idea, Production, Editing, Complete

Task in Idea Section with subtasks (via template)

Rule: Move to Production Section once Initial subtasks are complete and add Production subtasks

Rule: Move to Editing Section once production subtasks are complete and add Editing subtasks

Rule: Once editing subtasks are complete prompt Video lead to QC the edit and mark complete

Rule: Move to Complete once marked complete.

It’s such a SIMPLE workflow but cannot work because once subtasks are complete it will just skip middle sections and go to the latest section in the chain asking for completed subtasks.

Something as simple as

Rule: IF task is in section AND subtasks are all complete, run rule

is so ridiculously easy to comprehend and it makes ZERO sense why devs haven’t given us this extremely simple and VERY necessary update…

Welcome, @Phil_Castillo,

Doesn’t this address your need? (Requires Business or Premium) Note that “moved to a section” can also mean “is in a section.”

Also, I moved your post to a new thread because it was not related to the read where you originally posted.

Thanks,

Larry

I was having the same issue. I figured out a solution (I hope) for you.
I have a workflow setup similar to yours where there are multiple phases (sections) with subtasks and once all subtasks are complete in a section I want them to move to the next section. But once the all subtasks for the first phase were marked as complete the task would move through each section and never stop.
I think somehow asana’s trigger system is ffaster than the rules automation. So the trigger kept triggering the task through each section instead of stopping for the subtasks to be created.

SOLUTION