Introducing browser notifications!

Hi everyone :wave:

My name is Alex, and I’m an engineer at Asana. You’ve asked for browser notifications, and today I’m very excited to invite you to test out this new feature!

Here’s how you can turn on browser notifications:

1. Go to your Profile Settings.
  2. Click the Hacks tab.
  3. Toggle on browser notifications, then refresh the page.
  4. Click Allow in the pop-up to grant Asana permission to show notifications.

Browser notifications will appear when your teammates assign you a task, comment on a task you’re following, or add you as a collaborator. As we continue to develop this feature, keep an eye out for more types of notifications and control over the ones you receive!

If you need some uninterrupted time to focus on your work, just use the Snooze hack (Profile Settings > Hacks) to quiet your Inbox and browser notifications for an hour.

Note: Browser Notifications will only appear if you have Asana open, so we recommend leaving a tab minimized throughout the day.

Please share your feedback! Browser notifications are a work in progress, and we’re releasing them as a “hack” to get them into your hands early and incorporate your feedback into future versions. Please comment with any suggestions, big or small!

From all of us here at Asana, we hope you enjoy them—and can’t wait to hear what you think!

Cheers,
Alex Ryan

41 Likes

The best news in ages, thanks! Will be perfect when we will not need to have our tab or browser open to receive these notifications.

4 Likes

This is huge! Thanks Alex for your work on this. You mentioned other types of notifications are on the roadmap – is it fair to say task due date reminders are top of that list? Thanks again.

8 Likes

Thanks for the update on this. While we have you Alex, can you tell us if the desperately desired Desktop App is coming, in the works, or not even on the radar?

Thanks!

7 Likes