Workload graph does not turn red despite exceeded hours

Hi all, I am a newbie, just started my trial today :slightly_smiling_face:
I started this trial mainly with the goal, to visualize weekly workload for my team.
I want the Workload graph to turn red, to visualize exceeded work hours but whatever I do, the graph does not turn red.
What am I missing / doing wrong?

This is what I have created:
1 Portfolio with 43 projects and 131 tasks.
Team: 5 members including myself.
I have created a new Effort: ‘Hrs/Week’ ; this field is added to all projects in Portfolio, and I have added only hours to tasks for which I am responsible / assigned to me.
I have set Capacity to max 40 hrs per week.
I have set my hours to 36 hrs per week.
When I go to My Tasks overview, the Effort ‘Hrs/week’ shows a total of 58 hrs for all tasks in all projects.

When I go into Portfolio and click on Workload, I expect my graph to be red, because I exceeded my maximum weekly hours.
But the graph is not red. So it does not count all hours, but creates an average for 5 working days?
I don’t really get it, so if you can shed some light on this, I would appreciate it :slight_smile:

Claudia

Hi @Claudia_Mulder
Thank you for posting on the community.
Just to confirm you are using the same custom field?
Additionally depending on the start and due date of the task it will average out so if an 8 task is starting today and due tomorrow it will average out as 4 hours a day.

Hope that makes sense.

If you hover over yourself in Workload you’ll see how many hours are counted by Asana on that day/week, maybe that helps?