Why add task creation notifications to all project members by default?

I absolutely adore Asana, but here is my TOP PET PEEVE with Asana after being an extremely committed user since 2012 :slight_smile:

What is the reasoning that by default all new project members get updates about new task creations? This seems like a super rare situation where someone would want to get those notifications. There’s actually only one case I can think of: I am a project manager and I live and breathe one project and want to know everything that happens within it.

But besides that scenario, when would someone ever want to get updates about ALL task creations within a project? It’s totally information overload for 98% of people. Asana is normally all about reducing noise and allowing people to be in control of the messages they receive, and yet somehow this is enabled by default.

It’s difficult for a casual Asana user to understand what’s generating these notifications and how to turn them off. I suggest leaving that check box “unchecked” by default!

4 Likes

My gut reaction is that this default was created to - ta dah! - keep everyone on the same page. :wink: I’ll follow up with my colleagues on the product team to see if they can add more detail.

1 Like

Hi @Todd_Cavanaugh

I agree with @Alexis here. Perhaps we are part of the remaining 2% :smiley:

Like what you mentioned, Asana allows people to be in control of the messages they receive. There’s no one stopping the users to turn the notification off, unless someone else keeps turning them on. haha.

I was thinking maybe this is an issue with the guide? So I checked it out.

I found this section:

Then checking my inbox, there’s actually an “Unfollow Project” link.

Clicking it will uncheck the notifications for task creations

So I think, letting a new user go through the guide might help in this situation.

2 Likes

@LenSantos thanks for the thoughtful investigation you did. This is helpful!