Temporarily mute notifications for all members until a project is completely built

As several discussed in this thread, I am a project manager. I often will copy a project template and assign 20+ tasks to someone as I build out a project.

Even if I assign all tasks at once, they will still receive individual emails for each task.

I would like the ability to temporarily mute notifications altogether OR consolidate the notification to just ONE notification, even if you don’t multi-select and assign all tasks at once:
“You have been added to XYZ project. You are assigned to 24 tasks and added as a collaborator on 12 tasks.”

It would be great to have an “under construction” mode and when the project is live, send out notifications to all members associated with a summary of their upcoming involvement. Associated tasks would not appear in My Tasks until the project is live.

1 Like

Any feedback on this yet? I’ve been looking at this thread for a year now and still don’t see a solution posted. @Ellen_Dapper - have you heard anything?

I use Asana with my small team of consultants. When one of us is setting up a project, we need to consider members’ availability, tasks that have to happen before or after others, etc. I often need to tinker with dates, tasks, and assignees as I’m developing a new project, but I don’t want my team members to get multiple, changing notifications of tasks during the process. I recently experimented with setting up a project in a CSV file first with only assignees’ initials and uploading it, but of course the initials don’t show up in Asana, and I’ll have to manually enter people’s emails when I’m ready to go “live.” It would be great if there could be a way to work out a project on Asana (or even upload it via CSV, with all assignees’ emails) in a draft or mock-up mode, and have a toggle switch or other mechanism to say it’s in “final” or “live” mode to enable notifications when all the kinks are ironed out.

1 Like