Tracking budget across projects

Hi there,

I am a project manager and I receive yearly an annual budget to run multiple projects in parallel.
Currently I am tracking what budget I allocate to each project in an excel file, including the month it will be spent and the status of the invoicing (purchase order raised, good receipt posted, invoice received).
My goal is to make sure that

1. I can allocate budget by project per month
  2. I know how much budget I have left per month/year and for which projects
  3. I know how much budget I have spent in total for a certain project

I was wondering if someone had found a clever way of managing this in Asana directly.

Let me know :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Hi @CharlieGurtner, welcome to the Asana Community Forum!

We have some examples shared by other customers, you can have a look here:

I hope this helps! Let’s also see what other customers can share with you here as well :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks @Emily_Roman
I checked those topic, but it does not cover tracking budget spent across multiple projects.

My use case is that I want to know how much I have spend on each project and compare it with my total budget to make sure I do not go over or underspend.

Cheers

5 Likes

I second this. I have been trying out Everhour with Asana but I’m looking for a template or something that would allow these two to work for project budgets.

2 Likes

I’m also looking for a way to pull the budget information from projects (custom fields) into a portfolio view to see budget spends across projects all at once. Also wish we could figure out a way to integrate simple budgeting into projects: Budget Amount, Actual Amount, Difference (this should be able to calculate automatically). Budgets are project management 101 and really should be high priority for Asana.

6 Likes