This is a post regarding, in my opinion, bad product design within the user access settings for Asana teams as an admin.
I was spending some time cleaning up an Asana team within my organization’s workspace in Asana. I wanted to remove an employee from an Asana team that they were no longer associated with. I was able to do that easily by clicking to the Asana team and removing them. However, after removing them, I was prompted whether to also “deprovision” the member. I wasn’t too sure what this meant, but I thought it also had something to do with removing their access to the specific Asana team.
However, once I clicked on “deprovision,” I unknowingly removed the employee from the organizational Asana workspace, and now the employee has to spend their productive time regaining access to Asana.
I think that this is bad user design in Asana if they have an admin role. First, it is too easy to deprovision a user. Instead of clicking an unassuming link, there should be an additional pop-up to certainly confirm a deprovision. Second, you should not be able to deprovision a user in any screen except for the Asana admin console. I was able to deprovision a user easily via the team member setting, which does not make sense from a product design view. You should only be able to make a drastic action such as deprovisioning an account via the admin console.
I would like Asana to consider to remove the ability to deprovision a user via the team setting account or any other share settings and only be able to do this via the admin console. Doing so would ensure that users, especially admins, know that deprovisioning is a drastic action that requires additional safeguards from happening