Display Task ID on Asana Board

Is there a way to show the task ID on the Asana Board? I really need to have Task ID.

18 Likes

Hello! The task ID is available in the last batch of numbers in the html of the task. This is how a task URL breaks down:

Hi!

Thanks for the info so this means that there is no way to see the task id if I’m using the app?

Thanks

1 Like

That’s correct - you wouldn’t be able to see the ID in a mobile app. You’d have to refer to your browser on your desktop.

I hope you can make improvements in the future to add thismoption.

17 Likes

This would be very useful when referencing task cards in conversations and outside of Asana and helps reduce confusion.

21 Likes

Not very practical and very large ID, for example, I have my project design and my task id, they get huge number in the url …

464544646464/72757751737732

9 Likes

A valid concern. Nonetheless we hope you’ll be able to find the task ID useful at this time!

I am not a developer (hired one) but I would guess that the task I.D. has to be long almost by definition. So I think the real solution will be when custom fields can contain hyperlinks, maybe like the boards hyperlinks where you can have an optional title. Then using custom fields you can use the task I.D. anyway you choose.

3 Likes

The task ID’s in Asana should start with 1 and be incremental for your workspace. It would be much better if the URL was /workspace/ID (e.g.1).

Using the current task ID’s, I cannot discuss the ticket with my colleague using the task ID. I am not going to say “Hey Andrew, have you had a look at task 10293999303933?”.

We would also like to share task ID’s with our customers, so they can have a reference for the tasks, but the current task ID’s are too long for the customer to visualise and remember.

Please change task ID’s!

33 Likes

see Short task link with ID

7 posts were merged into an existing topic: Search Task with task ID