Short ID for tasks

I would like to have a short link for every task, that will consist of short project name and short task ID. The key word is “short”! For example, https://app.asana.com/HR-206.

You cannot imagine how incredibly useful to have in mind this short task description. And you can imagine how difficult is it to deal with current two (!) long numbers in every task link.

Thanks!

42 Likes

Thanks for the great feedback, @Dmitriy_Dobrynin. I believe the blocker for implementing this would be the sheer number of projects and tasks in Asana, which is part of the reason behind the large unique IDs in URLs today. That being said, I’m no engineer, so we’ll certainly capture this for the team for consideration and scoping from the Product team in the future.

In the meantime, I sometimes use a 3rd party link shortener (there’s many public options available) to send a more digestible link for tasks and projects out to others on the team when needed.

To understand more, are there certain common workflows where you’re distributing links to the team to point them to certain tasks rather than @-mentioning them in the task comments?

5 Likes

I use TextExpander to shorten links really quickly. So I just copy the link, type “/bitly” and it runs a script to shorten the link in my billy account. Here’s the script:

set my_Login to "YOUR LOGIN"
set my_API_Key to "YOUR API KEY"

if my_API_Key is equal to "" then
return "bit.ly now requires you to have an account and to specify your login and API key. Please set these at the top of the /bitly snippet. To make the Internet Productivity Group editable, select it and choose File -> Duplicate, then delete the original read-only group."
end

set the ClipURL to (the clipboard as string)

ignoring case
	if ((characters 1 through 4 of ClipURL as string) is not "http") then
		return "Malformed URL."
	else
		set the EncodedClipURL to urlencode(ClipURL) of me
		set curlCMD to ÂŹ