Deleting a Team Member & Project Member

I recently deleted a member of a project and added a new person to those assignments. Asana some how is still emailing the deleted person. She does not show up so I can’t delete her again. I also can’t get her off the Team. Anyone now how to fix either of these issues? I tried Asana but they are refusing to help me and told me this was my only option to get an answer (disappointing costumer service!)

1 Like

Hi @Amanda_Jamison- I’m a Success Manager here at Asana and am happy to help on this. When you remove someone from a project, it only takes them off updates to that specific project while they still might belong to the Team or the Organization. This might be why the person is still receiving emails.

If you want to remove someone from the entire Asana space, you will need to remove them from the organization. You can see how to do that here: Setting up an organization in Asana | Product guide • Asana Product Guide

If you want to keep them in the organization, but no longer want them in a specific team, you can see how to remove them from one specific team here: https://asana.com/guide/help/organizations/members#gl-remove-from-team

Does that help?

1 Like

Hello Kaitie –

Thanks for the emailing. I’ve removed her from both the project and the team but somehow she’s still getting email notifications. Is there a glitch that you could fix on the back end?

Thank you,

Amanda Jamison

Hi, I am having the same problem as Amanda. I revoked access to this person months ago and he doesn’t show up in any view of my Org but he just emailed me saying he’s still getting emails. What can I do? Screen shot of the email he sent me.

Hi @Amanda_Jamison & @J_Scavo -

Is it possible that the task is a recurring task (How to Complete Task Fields in Asana | Product Guide • Asana Product Guide). Whenever the task gets completed, a brand new copy - with the same collaborators/assignees - will be copied over as well.