Creating recurring timelines

I’m rather new to Asana and I couldn’t find this answer in the generic help or through google.

As an example, I want to create a monthly newsletter in a project. This is a consistent process every month, so I want to somewhat automate it.
Task from the 3rd to the 12th of every month: I want my team to brainstorm ideas from that month’s subject material.
Task on the 12th we meet to review and make decisions and assignments for sections of the newsletter.
Task from the 13th-20th, drafts of sections are due.
Task from the 20th-27th, newsletter graphics assembled and overall draft completed.
Task on the 27th, team meets to finalize newsletter.
Task on the 1st, newsletter released to supported communities.

These are pieces of the timeline I would like to create with monthly reoccurrence and also have dependencies between them as they are a step by step process.

What I’ve noticed is that while this works perfectly well in automation (but could be better if I could set monthly recurrences to be based on “First monday” rather than a numerical date), when I set this loop of dependencies, unless we are on step 1, the dependency chain always shows a loop back.

For example, if I set it so that task 1 blocks task 2 blocks task 3, with all 3 recurring monthly, when I mark task 1 complete, a new task 1 is created in the next month, which is STILL BLOCKING task 2. So there’s now a giant red dependency arrow crossing back across my timeline. If we mark task 2 complete, then a new task 2 is created and now is still blocking task 3, but at least the task 1–>task 2 block appears correctly.

Is there a way to fix this, or a way to accomplish this goal more effectively?

Hi @Justin_Hassan, welcome to the Asana Community Forum!