Create repetitive actions

I am new to Asana as of this afternoon. What is the best way for me to create a series of tasks that can be used when I add individual customers. Eg) I add Joe Smith and I want to apply 20 tasks that I can track. Then I add Emily Jones and want to track the exact same 20 tasks, and so on with new customers that I add on a daily basis.
Where do I start?? I have looked at the Academy and because this is so new to me, I can’t quite make sense out of how to do what I have described here.

Hi Mike. If you are going to be adding in each customer as a new “project”, the easiest option is for you to create a custom template which has all your 20 tasks defined. Then every time you enter in a new customer, you will “Use a Template” and select this custom template. To start-off, create a project listing all the tasks and then “convert it to a template”. You can can find out more details and examples here: How to create and use Asana templates | Product guide • Asana Product Guide

2 Likes

Thank you, @Bernie_Orelup. I will give that a try. I appreciate your guidance.

So this is what I created so far. Can you help me to add a project (customer) that would be the parent file to the system I created? Each customer should follow the same work flow. I created one customer as a project, I just don’t know how to connect the two.

I am reading as much as I can in the help section, but this is out of my league right now. I will contact customer service to see if they can guide me through some of this.

Thanks!

@Bernie_Orelup.

@Mike_Byers,

Click the orange + button in the top bar to add a new project. Find and select the name of your template (the one shown in your screenshot). When prompted, enter a desired name for the new project. Asana will then create a new project based on that template.