Upcoming changes coming to My Tasks in Asana! [breaking changes]

tl;dr: We are making breaking changes to the way that user task lists (i.e. My Tasks) work in Asana. If your app interacts with user task lists, please read!

Hi everyone,

I’m Yacob and I’m a Product Engineer here at Asana. I’m here to share some exciting news about some upcoming changes we have to the My Tasks (a.k.a. user task list) experience and let you all in the developer community know about the changes we will be making to our API to support this new experience.

First, some background!

Today, in user task lists, there are 2 primary ways you can group and organize your work.

1. All users have 4 default priority sections (Recently Assigned, Today, Upcoming, & Later)
  • Users can move tasks around between those priority sections manually and additionally, we have a process called “task auto-promotion” that moves tasks automatically between these sections based on task due dates.
  1. Users can manually create “sections” in their user task list to further organize, and these manually-created “sections” live in one of the 4 default priority sections.
  • These “sections” are just tasks with a specific bit of metadata to allow them to display visually as separators. To disambiguate these later, they will be referred to as “task-sections”.) Because it’s just a task, at the level of our data model it doesn’t actually “contain” the tasks that come below it.

We’re excited to announce that we are giving users the ability to completely customize the structure of their user task list by introducing “column-sections” in user tasks lists, much like they exist in projects. We believe that this will allow users to view & structure their work in whatever works best for them; this means the ability to switch between board & list view, the ability to have proper “column-sections” that act as containers, and the ability to control how they want to group their tasks.