New Project creation on new purchase (Zapier)

Hey all!

I’m fairly new to Asana and I’d like to get some advice on the following.

I want to create an automation so I don’t have to do anything myself or as little as possible.

I have created a template project in Asana with tasks for clients and us which will be the same every time. I want to automatically get a new project in Asana created the moment a new client pays the invoice. (I get a new customer in Stripe).

I have tried to use Zapier.

• When I get a new Customer in Stripe, a new project in Asana gets created. –

BUT the project is empty with no tasks. -

I would like Zapier to use the template when it creates a new project and then automatically add the client to the project in Asana.

So to summarize the flow:

1. I get a new customer in Stripe
  2. A new Project gets created in Asana using a pre-existing template
  3. The client gets added to the Project

Not sure if it’s 100% possible but I’m looking forward to any advice!

Hi @anon16649369, welcome to the Asana Commnunity Forum :wave:t2:

To get started, you might find this Guide article on Asana + Zapier helpful:

Hi @anon16649369,

Zapier does not have the functionality “out of the box” to create a new project from a template; you need to use its custom webhooks capability.

So you have two options: you can use Zapier custom webhooks - see this post for more info on that:

Or you can use our Flowsana integration - it has an If-Then Rule action to do exactly what you want, create a new project from a template. You can’t directly trigger that rule from an external application like Stripe, but what you can do is create a Zap that adds a task to a particular ‘New Customer’ Asana project when Stripe sends a new-customer event to Zapier, then create a Flowsana rule something like “When a new task gets added to the ‘New Customer’ project, then create a new project from the ‘Customer Onboarding’ template”.

2 Likes

Hey Phil,

That’s awesome!