Custom Field Webhook

I’m using Integromat in one of my asana projects to trigger an automation when a custom task field is set to a particular enum value. At the moment, I have a webhook set up for all changes in custom fields for that project. After receiving the many webhook calls, I filter them for ‘x field’ changed to ‘x value’.

This works but is incredibly task-hungry in integromat (it’s also not that quick since it’s processing so many changes all the time). It triggers about 14,000 times per day and runs only once or twice.

Does anyone know if there’s a way for me to filter more effectively, so the webhook doesn’t trigger so many times? Alternatively, is there a way to have a ‘bridge’ program? I could send the webhook to some non-integromat server, which filters for only that custom field, and then sends the relevant data on to Integromat?

Just an idea but I have no idea what that would be. I’m no expert.

There’s no capability in the Asana API to filter on one specific custom field. You could create an intermediate program to do the filtering if you have those coding skills (or you could hire someone).

@Peter_Bradshaw I’ve been working on a solution for these task-heavy posts for a couple months now. If you have thousands (or even hundreds) of triggers that only result in a few runs per day, your configuration can definitely be optimized.

Assuming you have optimized your webhook filters in asana and also want to keep communication relatively instant (i.e., not polling asana every 5 mins), it’s time to create some robust filtering in integromat.

I’m not very experienced with integromat specifically, but after brief look at their platform, it looks like you can filter immediately after a trigger, like most IFTTT’s. Experiment with filters that will only allow data to pass that meets the criteria of a ‘run’ scenario, like:

• filter only records where ‘modified_at’ is within the last few minutes, or