University research lab use challenges

I am currently testing several different project management software suites (e.g., Trello, Freedcamp) to help with team collaborations. I’m leaning toward Asana, but there are a few challenges I’m having difficulty overcoming for my particular use case: I’m a university professor who directs a research lab with several doctoral students who each lead multiple projects, and each of whom supervises a number of undergraduate research assistants on these projects.

Because we have .edu email addresses, we must use a Workspace and we cannot convert to an Organization. My university does not allow the creation of email addresses with subdomains, and it is against our IT policy to create an email server with new domains. As such, I cannot create multiple teams where each grad student is a Team, and their projects are nested in these Team.

To get around this, and continue to test Asana for my needs, I created a Workspace with a single Research Lab Team—in case anyone asks, I am continuing to test Asana because it is the project management software with the least compromises for my use case, with Freedcamp being a distant second place. In any case, this setup is problematic because everyone on the Research Lab Team will get bogged down with information overload as every project, task, due date, etc. is viewable and people can go in, edit, re-assign tasks, and whatnot in other projects. This looks like:

Workspace
-Research Lab Team
—Grad Student #1 Project #1
—Grad Student #1 Project #2
—Grad Student #2 Project #1
—Grad Student #3 Project #1

What would be ideal is a setup like:

Organization (Research Lab)
-Grad Student #1 Team
—Project #1
—Project #2
-Grad Student #2 Team
—Project #1
—Project #2
-Grad Student #3 Team
—Project #1
—Project #2