Slack integration in custom rules breaks daily

I love the idea of the new Slack integration tying in with custom rules, but this feature breaks every other day for us.

As an agency, we have several Asana boards related to a client (depending on the team), but only one Slack channel for that client (for cross-disciplinary communication). I went through and added a rule that posts to to the client’s Slack channel whenever a comment is posted on a task as
sometimes input is needed across teams, and I want to improve visibility.

Right after setting up the integration on multiple boards, and for a day or so, the rules post messages just fine. Small delay, but still gets posted. However, I notice that after about 36-48 hours, these rules break, and I need to re-authorize Slack. Once I do that, again it works for a day or so, and then breaks.

I don’t know if I am doing something wrong, or something is misconfigured in our Slack admin. I am an admin of both, if it helps.

Any assistance would be appreciated!

4 Likes

Hi @Bryan_Wojciechowski, thanks for reaching out and sorry for the trouble here! In order to best assist you, could you confirm the following information please?

• Are you getting a disconnected error message within the integration? It would be also very helpful if yo could send us a screenshot.
  • Are other users in your Organization also experiencing the error you mentioned

Looking forward to your reply!

@Emily_Roman Our experience has been exactly as described above. Worked fine at setup. Now we are getting the same breakage described by Bryan. This is creating some P0 issues for us. We want to use our slack integration to kick alerts for urgent matters to our legal team. Every time the Slack alert is triggered, though, it breaks the integration before sending the slack alert.

Hi Emily,
Here is a screenshot, it’s not much info to go off of.

The rule breaks at the integration level, so once it breaks, it is broken for everyone.