Moving Tasks Between Projects and Tracking Sub-Tasks

Hi there. I’m new to using Asana. We use it in my department to track digital creative projects. I have a two part question. One of the ways I’m using Asana is to track deliverables for email assets. I’m trying to figure out if there’s a way to move tasks from one project to another. Each “project” is a set-up as a month (March 2017 Emails, April 2017 Emails); within each month, I have columns for each week (April Week 1, April Week 2, and so on), and each task is the email (the task due date is the day it will be deployed). I created tasks in the March email project that need to be moved to the April email project, but can’t figure out if there’s a way to do this.

The second part revolves around the subtasks. Each email “task” has a series of sub-tasks for each creative deliverable. I’ve been assigning each subtask and want to be able to see in calendar view the subtask and who it is assigned to. The task “due date” is the date the email will be deployed, so I want to be able to track the subtask due-dates in order to manage workflow. Is Asana capable of this?

Many thanks.

-Nicole

3 Likes

Hey Nicole! A great thing about Asana is it has the project tethering (tasks can live in multiple projects), but also that moving a task from one project to another is very simple.

This guide post should walk you through it, but also you can press tab+p when in a task to either change or add a project.

And then once added to the right project you can change which column or section it’s in as normal.