How to get an overstretched team to invest time & energy updating Asana

I’m sure this topic has been covered before, so if you’re aware of a similar predicament – please point me in the right direction.

I am not a Project Manager, but I’ve been one in the past. My Marketing Team found out that I have experience in this area and so a couple of months ago I was delegated setting up Asana for the whole team :sweat_smile: The current challenge is to get everyone participating as much as possible, but I know from tracking completed tasks that about 5 out of 30+ people use Asana regularly.

I’m pretty sure I can get everyone to input their OKRs into Asana Goals, but I’m not sure I can convince them to regularly update progress & attach projects to their goals over time. I can’t be there to handhold because I have my own job.

QUESTION: Does anyone have recommendations on how to convince people to regularly update Asana, especially if they see it as extra work?

An incomplete list of things I have tried: setting up regular check-in meetings, setting up project management “office hours”, building a simple project management playbook, making short instructional videos, showing off how easy it can be to track progress, showing how using Asana to track workloads can lead to us hiring more people and minimizing burn out, quantitatively demonstrating how project management is directly correlated to successful projects … the list goes on.

What we need is a dedicated Project Manager, but until then, this will be my challenge, and I appreciate any recommendations!

Hi @Margo_Poda

If you have a look through the On Boarding category and the Asana Guide there should be lots of tips on how other people have gone about this.

My two cents would be;

• Start small use a simple workflow to help them achieve and learn.
  • You have to be able to work out the answer to What’s In It For Me question…

Regards

Jason.

1 Like