Does the Event API give me details of the event, or just a notification that an event happened?

Asana newbie here so forgive a potentially silly question…

I’ve been playing with the Asana API to create webhooks to receive notifications about changes to tasks. This all works fine, and I do receive events as they happen, so no issues getting set up.

My question is about the payload of the POST from Asana to my endpoint that receives events. The POST I get only tells me that something changed - not what changed. This isn’t particularly useful to me as I need to know what actually changed.

Am I missing something here, or is the Asana Event API purposely designed this way?

I am trying to avoid having to capture task fields and store them myself elsewhere so that I have a point of comparaison when I receive a “changed” event. Has anyone else had to do this and maybe has some tips to share?

1 Like

Hi @Jason_Dark,

Your assessment is exactly correct: the Events API does not tell you what fields within an object changed, only that something changed on that object. The only way to know exactly what changed is, as you say, to store data yourself and compare.

Thanks @Phil_Seeman, makes sense now. Will have to hold a record of task fields then!

Yeah, I’m afraid so! (That’s what I do in Flowsana.)

We have an enhancement coming soon that could help with this!

While we always want to be clear that using stories for task changes is problematic (stories are designed for human consumption, and making multiple changes of the same kind at once can “collapse” them to reduce noise for human users of Asana) they will contain some of this information now (if you ask for it with opt_fields) and we’ll document it soon!

Here is the default payload returned from a story where I changed the description (the field on a task called “notes” in our API):

{
  "user": {a user object and its fields}
  "created_at": "2019-01-30T19:41:28.755Z",
  "type": "story",
  "action": "added",