Asana/Google Calendar Integration

I’m new to Asana, and my first task is to sync it to Google Calendar. I started a topic a while back, but it was ended (why?).

I’ve tried the Asana direct connection, zzBots, and Project Buddy. I considered Zapier and some other high-end integrations, but they were too much for me. I do not need collaboration, and my project management needs are pretty light.

The direct connection is not 2-way, but zzBots and Project Buddy are bidirectional. The direct connection is simple, but when I complete a task or project in Asana, I have to do the same in Google Calendar.

I tried the Asana premium 2-way sync with Google Calendar using zzBots. I like the easy setup, and the free plan is not too bad if you do not do a lot of synching.

However, if you delete or complete an Asana task, Google Calendar has no corresponding action. Also, when you add a Google Calendar event, it is synched over to Asana without an assignee. This is a problem if you use the Asana My Tasks since a task does not appear unless assigned to you. I had to search for the new task and assign it to me for it to show up in My Tasks.

Overall, I like ProjectBuddy better. It also has automatic 2-way synch that is almost instantaneous (vs. ten min. syncs for zzBots) and has delete/complete synchronization. However, you must pay extra ($12.50/mo for a five-user minimum) to get the tasks and event times to synch.

Since I do not need collaboration right now and my project management needs are low, I will use Asana to manage my large projects and Google Calendar for everything else. I will use the Asana direct synch to put Asana tasks in my Google Calendar and then time-block those tasks in Google Calendar.

I looked around the integration forum and read the following:

Real time, two ways Calendar integration from @bob_christensen

The Asana automation bible: all the triggers and actions from Asana, Zapier, Flowsana, Make.com @Bastien_Siebman