How I Set Up Asana as a Freelance Grant Writer

I’m a contract grant writer with a half a dozen regular clients at any given time and about that many more for shorter assignments over the course of a year. Each of those clients has grant applications, letters of inquiry, reports, and special projects running all the time. Over time, I learned how to set up an Asana structure that is both simple and flexible.

Here’s what works for me:

(1) A team for every client
(2) A project for the main topics: deadlines, pending, client meeting agenda, and “general.”
(3) A task for each of the grant or report deadlines, pending/submitted applications, agenda items, etc.
(4) I use three tags for a quick view across clients: deadline, pending, and research. I review upcoming deadlines daily. The research tag is to watch funders’ websites for updated deadlines and guidelines. Those are often set up as recurring tasks.

For the meeting agendas, I use the free Asana2Go extension and paste the results into Word for editing. During the meeting, I have a client notes document, but I also edit or complete tasks right in Asana.

To make my task list easier to read, I added a client acronym to major tasks. For example, the Helping The World nonprofit is applying to XYZ Foundation. I’ll add a task named XYZ Application – HTW.

It’s essentially that simple.

When I started, I added a project for every application and every report. So under each client (each team) I might have up to 50 application and report projects listed for the year. With a small business (two people) and standardized workflows, I realized I could simply create one project for each client called Deadlines and then put all the applications, letters of inquiry, reports, etc. in there.