Help with Webhooks filters

Hi there,

I’m new to all of this so I apologize if my question is too obvious!

I’m looking to create a webhook while applying filters but I am not 100% sure how to pass the filter options. I’m in node.js using the asana-node wrappers.

const asana = require('asana');

I am successfully getting a handshake and a stream of events but I can never create the webhook with filters. Should I pass the filter as opt_fields? Can someone help me getting the syntax right here?

await client.webhooks.create(resourceId, callbackURL);

Also, are teams and/or workspace available for webhooks? It would be great to get updates on high-level stuff such as when a project is added to a workspace, team, or portfolio for example.

Thanks in advance!

Pedro

Hi Pedro,

I might be wrong, and @Phil_Seeman the webhook expert will correct me, but I believe you need to create a webhook on some objects (like a project or a task) and then it is up to you to filter events on your side… So you’ll receive a s**t load of events and then you do the filtering in your server.

Ah, I was hoping that I could limit the amount of data that my server is receiving.

Any chance for webhooks for team, portfolios, or workspace?

In the API documentation they mention a filtering though :slight_smile:

This can be a lot of data, some of which might not be relevant to a particular integration, so Asana’s webhooks have a filtering feature which allows integrations to specify only the types of changes that they care about. By specifying the list of WebhookFilters on webhook creation an integration can select just the subset of events it wants to receive. When filters are specified on the webhook events will only be delivered if they pass any of the filters specified when creating the webhook.

Yes I just saw! Never used it, @Phil_Seeman will be able to help.

And you can see there that there are webhooks for team, portfolios and workspaces.