Dumb question(s) about php-asana usage (how do I pull a given task_gid's comments?)

So, up front, I apologize for what are probably some extremely stupid questions I am about to ask. I am not a developer, but I do muddle around with PHP scripts from time to time.

I have been using the php-asana library for a few years now for the purpose of creating new tasks. Works great for that, fairly straightforward. Recently, due to some changes in workflow at my company, I now need to pull the comments from tasks to read and do some match-up with offline data, from which I can determine if they are done or not.

The part I can not for the life of me figure out, is how to use php-asana to pull the comments for a task. I would think this would be a pretty straightforward deal: something like $c = $client->comments->getAllComments(task_gid); and then when done, the comments for that task GID would all be in $c as either an array or an object, and I could do whatever I wanted with them from there. However, I cannot for the life of me find/figure out what method would get me anything resembling that kind of functionatlity.

Anyway - if someone could help me out, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Hi @Adam_Lambert!

Task comments in Asana are a part of the object known technically as Stories.

https://developers.asana.com/docs/stories

Stories will include not only user comments but also the updates you see in a task’s activity stream; so once you get a task’s stories, you’ll need to pick out the comments for your processing.

In terms of PHP:

I apparently need more detailed instructions. I have already been round and round with both findByTask and getStoriesForTask, and have made zero headway.

findBytask errors out (PHP Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined method Asana\Resources\Tasks::findByTask())

getStoriesForTask returns an object that does not have any comments/events/etc in it that I can tell from a print_r() of the object.