How do you quickly save task to process later? (Collect task / Inbox List in GTD)

Hi there:

I am trying to figure out a way of collecting task quickly into the “in list”, that is where you capture ideas and tasks as they occur to you. This can be your boss telling you to bake her a carrot cake, or seeing a poster for a circus you want to see. The barrier for adding something to your the “in list” should be as low as possible.

I have been using asana for collaborative projects for a while. But I am trying to use now as my personal task manager. In the other app, I was using as a task manager I could save task into the “in list” from a quick shortcut in windows straight away or one click on my phone. I haven’t figure out how to do that in ASANA. I did install the chrome extension but I can´t (or I don´t know how) to configure it to save the task straight away to a certain list that I can also set up my phone asana app to do it in 1 click and keep working.

If I have to spend a few clicks/seconds for saving every task/idea/info I end up not writing them down and forgetting them… At the moment I am doing that in a separated app, but it is so inconvenient.

Any help, ideas or workflow for that it would be tremendously helpful.

1 Like

On the iOS app, you can hard push the app icon and there is a shortcut to add a task. You can also email tasks to specific projects? Would that work for you?

Bastien
Asana Certified Pro, consultant, author and developer

3 Likes

Thanks Bastien for your message but the problem is that the IOS app, as far as I know, doesnt let you choose a default list to add the task, so you need to choose manually the list (in list) so is not a 1 sec mission. And sending an email to add a task is not either a 1 click method. Thank you very much for your suggestions though I really appreciate it

1 Like