It has always been my understanding that the only default views that can be saved applies to anyone with access to the project. Is that the case? If so, it would be nice for users to ALSO set their own personal view of a project or portfolio. The option to use the “everyone default” would then be available to them. Similarly, if someone saved for everyone, it would only apply to those without a personal view saved.
The recent blog post (shown below) seems to contradict the user guide (also below) by offering an indication that someone can “save their own default”.