Multihome a Task with Separate Completion Status

I’m relatively new to Asana, but loving it so far. I thought setting up a workflow would be a great way to help manage my team’s repetitive processes, but I’m running into some trouble when moving a task into another project. For instance, I have a rule in place to move a task from my Design team’s project to the Social team’s project, which works, but then if the task is set to mark as Incomplete for the Social team, it is also marked as Incomplete for the Design team. Is there a way to either move or duplicate the task into another project while retaining the task contents/information, but have separate completion status?

For the Design team, their work on the project is complete, and I want the task to reflect that on their project board, but for the social team their work is not and I also want that reflected. Is this possible or is there some sort of workaround? I’ve been digging through tutorial videos and the forum, but haven’t been able to find a similar use case.

Thanks!

Welcome, @vdles,

Multi-homing a task puts a task in multiple projects, but it’s the same task, so it just has a single completion status.

My typical solution when I have a process with multiple steps carried out by different teams/people, and I want them to be able to be grouped together, is to treat Design Work and Social Work as two subtasks of a parent task representing the project as a whole.

But it’s hard to say what the right solution is for your situation without knowing more and spending more time (which is what I do in consulting engagements).

You might find this workshop I did helpful generally in approaching workflows:

Hope that helps,

Larry

Hello @vdles ,

I see two approaches possible

:one: Keep all in one main task