How to add and link Asana Dependencies to Taskbar

Hello,

I have a question regarding Dependencies in Asana. Is it possible to add a “Dependencies” field to the taskbar of any Asana project and have it be linked to Dependencies in the specific task, or does this have to be manually done?

Thanks!

Hi @Development_Assistan and welcome to the forum,

Could you explain a bit more about what specifically you’re wanting? (A screenshot might be helpful.) I’m not sure what your request is exactly. (There’s no Asana UI element that’s called a “taskbar” so not sure what that refers to.) Thanks!

Hello Phil,

Thanks for the response! I’ll try to explain what I am asking as best I can, however, apologies as I am pretty new to Asana

Essentially, what my team wants to do, is to take the dependencies of a task, and move it to the ribbon of the project. I’ve attached a screenshot below to show what I mean by ribbon

This screenshot is what we ideally want to have happen - to link the dependencies of a task to the ribbon so that everyone can see the task dependencies at sight value. I am wondering if this is possible, or if we would have to do this manually (i.e manually input dependencies in the field and manually put the options)

Please let me know if this makes sense or if you need more pictures or more information. Thanks!

You can definitely add “Dependencies” as a column in the list view; I assume from your screenshot you’ve already done that. That allows you to see and set dependencies without having to go to a task’s detail pane.

I’m confused about this part of your comment, though:

I’m not sure how adding the Dependencies column would help to automate the process of actually setting dependencies; you still have to do that for each task. So I think I’m still not following your thought process here…