Help with connecting Power BI to Asana

tasks

I’m a freelance Power BI consultant based in the UK. I have a client who wants me to build some bespoke reports in Power BI. I’m keen to use the Asana API to provide a connection with Asana and provide a scheduled refresh. I don’t have the experience to establish the API connection, so I’m looking for assistance from someone who does. Please contact me if you feel you can help.

Thanks,
Martyn

Hi @Martyn_Hale,

There’s an existing Power BI integration; have you tried that?

Thanks @Phil_Seeman. @Martyn_Hale I believe the organization will need an enterprise level to pull in the data to Power BI. I just tried on my end and it failed to import the data, but we are just on a team level.

Katie

Hi Phil, As far as I’m aware there’s a Power BI Connector, but this only provide access to a couple of fixed reports - I’m looking to connect with the Asana tables if possible.

Martyn

Hi Kate, when you say enterprise, what do you mean?

Martyn

@Martyn_Hale there is a team level and an organization level for Asana. I believe they need to be on an organizational level and using specific features, like project updates. We are on a team level and do not use the project update feature since we don’t have access to portfolios. I believe that’s why it won’t pull data into the Power BI content pack for us because it’s lacking data where it’s trying to pull from.

Katie

@Martyn_Hale,

How about Bridge24, have you explored that option?

(I’m not necessarily trying to discourage you from having something built, and I might be in a position to help you with it, but I wanted to make sure you explored the existing options first.)

Did not know about this option @Phil_Seeman, thanks. @Martyn_Hale sorry I could not be more helpful by email :sweat_smile:

@Phil_Seeman is this feature no longer available? The link you posted is broken.