# Duplicating a Project and Team Members are not Included

**URL:** <https://forum.asana.com/t/duplicating-a-project-and-team-members-are-not-included/896499>\
**Category:** Ask the Community\
**Created:** [20 August 2024 17:34 UTC](https://forum.asana.com/t/duplicating-a-project-and-team-members-are-not-included/896499 "2024-08-20T17:34:34Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![AmyPeters](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/asana/user_avatar/forum.asana.com/amypeters/32/226767_2.png) [@AmyPeters](https://forum.asana.com/u/AmyPeters)\
**Post date:** [20 August 2024 17:34 UTC](https://forum.asana.com/t/duplicating-a-project-and-team-members-are-not-included/896499/1 "2024-08-20T17:34:34Z")

</div>

Hello,

In the last few weeks, my colleagues and I noticed something when duplicating a project. We usually select the dropdown of a project, select “Duplicate” then uncheck “Project Members” so the project will be secluded to the individual.

It seemed, for quite some time, that Asana would still automatically add the Team Members where the project was housed to that project. In the last few weeks, though, it seems that is no longer the case and the project now remains completely private with the individual who created it.

Has anybody noticed this change or have anything to comment?

Our specific need is we want to be able to duplicate a project that has several group members but ensure it is only given access to the individual who originally duplicated it.

Thanks!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Stephen\_Li](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/asana/user_avatar/forum.asana.com/stephen_li/32/279555_2.png) [@Stephen\_Li](https://forum.asana.com/u/Stephen_Li)\
**Post date:** [20 August 2024 18:04 UTC](https://forum.asana.com/t/duplicating-a-project-and-team-members-are-not-included/896499/2 "2024-08-20T18:04:40Z")

</div>

@AmyPeters - Asana recently (last couple months) launched the ability to share projects with multiple teams, which has had some knock-on effects on other elements of sharing. There used to be 3 privacy levels (public to org, public to team, private to members); now there are two (removed public to team). I’m wondering if this is related to that (i.e., your projects used to be public to team, when duplicating them, that was preserved. Now, they are _shared_ with that team but private to members, when duplicating and removing memberships, that team is removed).

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![AmyPeters](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/asana/user_avatar/forum.asana.com/amypeters/32/226767_2.png) [@AmyPeters](https://forum.asana.com/u/AmyPeters)\
**Post date:** [20 August 2024 18:10 UTC](https://forum.asana.com/t/duplicating-a-project-and-team-members-are-not-included/896499/3 "2024-08-20T18:10:28Z")

</div>

Fantastic. Thank you, Stephen!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/asana/user_avatar/forum.asana.com/system/32/276370_2.png) [@system](https://forum.asana.com/u/system)\
**Post date:** [27 August 2024 18:10 UTC](https://forum.asana.com/t/duplicating-a-project-and-team-members-are-not-included/896499/4 "2024-08-27T18:10:35Z")

</div>

Closed on 27 August 2024 18:10 UTC

This topic was automatically closed 7 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
