Duplicate tasks are displayed as completed

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to Asana, but it’s helping me a great deal, particularly being able to mark tasks as duplicates because our projects rely on lots of shared work packages that are then used in different ways. However, when I mark a task as a duplicate, in that project, it is automatically marked as completed… Firstly, can someone explain to me the rationale for this, and secondly, if there is a way to instead track the status of the original task in the second project (i.e. it doesn’t appear as completed when viewing project progress).

Thanks
Andy

Hi Andy

I might be missing it but I can’t see an option to mark tasks as duplicates. I wonder if you’re actually merging duplicate tasks. When you merge a duplicate task with another, the two tasks are combined and the duplicate task is automatically closed.

I’ve just tried it with one of my tasks by creating a second one with the same title - Asana reporting - and choosing to merge the two. It looked like this:

So, the duplicate task has now been closed and merged with the original.

If you’d like to have duplicate tasks that are separate and distinct, you could use the ‘Copy task…’ option, which you’ll find in the three dots in the task window.

Hope that helps.
Mark

1 Like

Hi Mark,

Thank you for your reply. I think you have the gist of what I’m saying. I guess what I would like is to be able to have a task that is `shared’ between two projects. It seems logical that if one project is reliant/the same as a task in another project/subtask in the same project, one would mark it is a duplicate, i.e. there is one task that needs doing, but is monitored by two different projects. It seems odd then to mark the task as completed and closed as soon as it is duplicated, because then when you look at the progress of the project, it is marked as complete regardless of the status of the original project.