As @Bastien_Siebman has mentioned, we are rolling out an update that allows you to delete Sections/Columns without having to delete any task within it, although every task nested in the Section will be deleted as well. This has been gradually rolled out (currently available to 50% of our users) and will be available to everybody in the next couple of days so if you’re not seeing this option in your account just yet, don’t worry it will soon be available to you!
Let me know if you have any follow-up questions! Have a great Monday you all!
Thanks for the response, @Natalia! I wanted to be certain I understood the behavior.
Personally, I am not a big fan of deleting tasks that have been completed within a section. If I find that a section has no incomplete tasks, I would love to be able to refer to that information in the future, if needed. There is so much good, searchable information that is collected within these tasks as the team collaborates towards achieving a goal. Being able to delete that hard work easily makes me nervous. I’ve voted and am closely watching the discussion here:
My take on this is similar to how the inbox is managed. Information is either active or archived but never lost!
Great to hear about the roll-out of deleting sections without deleting all the completed tasks. But I just tried to delete a section where I deleted each and every single complete and incomplete task associated with the section and it still won’t delete. The delete option is greyed out and I get an info message telling me I have to delete all the associated tasks… which I’ve already done… help!
In the new version of ‘sections’ one needs to delete all unfinished & finished tasks to delete a section. The latter, deleting finished tasks, is a huge difficulty, making it practically impossible to delete a section.
Sorry about the inconvenience this might be causing you! As I mentioned i a previous post here we are rolling out an update where you will be able to delete a Section without having to delete any task nested in it. Although every task nested in the Section will be also deleted. This update will be available to everybody soon!
I’ll make sure to keep you posted in this thread as soon it is completely rolled out!
Can you please confirm if you are still running into this issue? I believe the reason why you were not able to delete the section was because your account was been update to the new ability to delete sections without having to delete any task that is nested in this section.
Finally I’m able to delete sections, ONLY to find out that all the tasks were gone as well!
Is there a way you could just ‘mark complete’ and move on? We connect asana to airtable and xero and the ability to reference old tasks (we use project number) in asana is CRUCIAL. Deleting Sections remove all the tasks completed and there is no way to retrieve those task back from search bar.
If I want to delete a section I get a message that it will also delete all the completed tasks within that section. How do I delete the section without deleting the completed tasks nested within that section?
Can we get an update here? We were told, “we are rolling out an update that allows you to delete Sections/Columns without having to delete any task within it.” I now have the ability to delete a section, but only with the ability to delete all the (completed) tasks associated with it.