Am I Too Stupid to Keep Things Simple?

This is my crazy photo & video workflow board, that’s long and complicated and already contributing to brain fatigue! Am I disobeying the KISS principle here?

I am a wedding photographer and cinematographer, and all my clients generally go through the following stages of initial contact, through to delivery of products. There are many steps in between but everyone goes through all these stages.

This is my attempt at creating a project template that I will duplicate for each client (I am on the free version)

QUESTIONS

1. Do I have too many sections?
  2. Should I use sub tasks at all?
  3. Would you utilize TAGS to bring things to an easy view?
  4. Some persons would suggest a project for each stage instead of a board with multiple sections. Agree or disagree?

With this method, I have to go in and create due dates for each task as I am on the free version so that’s also very tedious

(What’s probably also driving me crazy is that I’m trying to do this with the free version but I want to at least test this for 3-6 months before I can legitimately consider this worth investing in.)

Hi @Darren_George,

Funny headline–no way! I think your approach to enumerate all the steps so you don’t miss anything is smart. But I agree you should try to simplify (without losing value).

Your capsule summary and great screenshot provide a good window into things, but that doesn’t mean I can really understand enough about your business and how you use this project to necessarily give you good suggestions…but why let that stop me! :smile:

Take with a grain of salt, but my thinking is that you could:

• Use a List not a Board project – much more compact and other advantages
  • It’s fine to keep those sections – in the List project you can View Incomplete Tasks and mark completed tasks as you go to condense your view